December 9, 2010

Breaking down the college football awards

The College Football Awards Show will be held Thursday night at Disney World and here's a look at the finalists and who we think should win the various trophies.

Of course, the big trophy is awarded Saturday night, when the Heisman is handed out in New York.

Chuck Bednarik Award
Given to: Best defensive player
Finalists: Clemson DE Da'Quan Bowers, Auburn DT Nick Fairley, LSU CB Patrick Peterson
Our pick: Fairley
Biletnikoff Award
Given to: Best receiver
Finalists: Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles, South Carolina's Alshon Jeffery
Our pick: Blackmon
Lou Groza Award
Given to: Best kicker
Finalists: Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey, Southern Miss' Danny Hrapmann, Notre Dame's David Ruffer
Our pick: Ruffer
Note: Our real pick, Nebraska's Alex Henery, wasn't a finalist
Ray Guy Award
Given to: Best punter
Finalists: Georgia's Drew Butler, Iowa's Ryan Donahue, Florida's Chas Henry
Our pick: Henry
Mackey Award
Given to: Top tight end
Finalists: Missouri's Michael Egnew, Wisconsin's Lance Kendricks, Arkansas' D.J. Williams
Our pick: Egnew
Maxwell Award
Given to: Best all-around player
Finalists: Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Boise State QB Kellen Moore, Auburn QB Cameron Newton
Our pick: Newton
Davey O'Brien Award
Given to: Best quarterback
Finalists: Stanford's Andrew Luck, Boise State's Kellen Moore, Auburn's Cameron Newton
Our pick: Newton
Outland Trophy
Given to: Best interior lineman
Finalists: Wisconsin OT Gabe Carimi, Florida State G Rodney Hudson, Colorado OT Nate Solder
Our pick: Carimi
Rimington Award
Given to: Best center
Finalists: Arizona's Colin Baxter, Stanford's Chase Beeler, Ohio State's Michael Brewster, TCU's Jake Kirkpatrick, Michigan's David Molk, Auburn's Ryan Pugh
Our pick: Beeler
Jim Thorpe Award
Given to: Best defensive back
Finalists: Nebraska CB Prince Amukamara, TCU FS Tejay Johnson, LSU CB Patrick Peterson
Our pick: Peterson
Doak Walker Award
Given to: Best running back
Finalists: Wisconsin's John Clay, Oklahoma State's Kendall Hunter, Oregon's LaMichael James
Our pick: James
Walter Camp Award
Awarded to: Most outstanding player
Finalists: Oregon RB LaMichael James, Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Auburn QB Cam Newton
Our pick: Newton
Already awarded
Butkus Award
Given to: Best linebacker
Finalists: UCLA's Akeem Ayers, North Carolina's Bruce Carter, Georgia's Justin Houston, Boston College's Luke Kuechly, Texas A&M's Von Miller
Winner: Miller
We would've voted for: Kuechly
Lombardi Award
Awarded to: Outstanding lineman
Finalists: Clemson DE Da'Quan Bowers, Iowa DE Adrian Clayborn, Auburn DT Nick Fairley, TCU C Jake Kirkpatrick
Winner: Fairley
We would've voted for: Fairley
Nagurski Award
Awarded to: Defensive player of year
Finalists: Clemson DE Da'Quan Bowers, Auburn DT Nick Fairley, Georgia LB Justin Houston, Boston College LB Luke Kuechly, LSU CB Patrick Peterson
Winner: Bowers
We would've voted for: Fairley
Ted Hendricks Award
Awarded to: Top defensive end
Finalists: Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers, Iowa's Adrian Clayborn, Purdue's Ryan Kerrigan, Texas A&M's Von Miller, Pittsburgh's Jabaal Sheard, Wisconsin's J.J. Watt
Winner: Bowers
We would've voted for: Bowers

FEATURED PRODUCT is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.